The Outsider's Insider

A Guide to Living in Yerevan

Favorites November 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — outsidersinsider @ 6:02 am

I have never been the type of person who says ‘Oh, my favorite book is…’ or ‘My favorite movie is….’, maybe I’m just indecisive but I really can’t choose and I feel that it constantly changes.  After doing a survey on Facebook that involved saying how many books you have read in a list of  the top 100 most popular books in Britain, and getting comments on how lacking the list really was, I thought that I could ask YOU to help me compile a list of the best books ever.  In tandem, I thought we could also do a list of movies (for all of those who aren’t big readers).  So, your task is to leave a short list of  ideas (or even just one) in the comments section.  When we have a pretty good list, I’ll post it!

I’ll even get it started….

‘The Power of Myth’ by Joseph Campbell

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

‘Master and Margarita’ by Mikhail Bulgakov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and…I’m a sucker for Westerns….. ‘Lonesome Dove’ by Larry McMurtry (and I can add that the movie is fantastic too!)

 

7 Responses to “Favorites”

  1. Anna Conway Says:

    For me the best books ever are:
    * Neither here nor there by Bill Bryson
    *Three men in a boat by Jerome K Jerome
    * The Kite Runner by Haled Hoseini
    *Crime and Punishment by F Dostoevsky
    *100 years of solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

    And many others, if you need more, let me know 🙂

  2. Kirstin Says:

    Favourite books – a difficult call as reading is so closely linked to time, places and people. But here are some books that came to my mind immediately:

    Jeanette Winterson: Oranges are not the only fruit
    Virginia Woolf: Orlando
    Virginia Woolf: Mrs Dalloway
    Jhumpa Lahiri: Interpreter of Maladies
    Alison Bechdel: Funhome
    Tsitsi Dangarembga: Nervous Conditions

    Enjoy!

  3. Myrthe Says:

    Most of Chaim Potok’s books are high on my list of favorite fiction, especially The Chosen and The Promise, his two Asher Lev books and Davita’s Harp.

    Master and Margarita is one of my favorites, too. Other favorites are: Jeffrey Eugenides – Middlesex
    Rafik Schami – The Dark Side of Love
    Naguib Mahfouz – Cairo Trilogy (actually three separate books)
    Amos Oz – A Tale of Love and Darkness
    Kurban Said – Ali and Nino
    Apart from Potok’s The Chosen, I don’t have a clear favorite, but these are all on my list of favorites.

    My favorite non-fiction book is Orlando Figes’ The Whisperers with probably Anne Applebaum’s Gulag a close second. Both deal with the Soviet Union and Stalinist repression (so not the most uplifting subjects), but both are so well written, I blew my way through them.

  4. Tina MCDevitt Says:

    I read a lot of children books, you know, because of the kids. When I have time, I like to squeeze in some adult reading. I am currently reading The Cheapskate Next Door. It’s pretty good. It talks about how excessive we are. I guess my favorite book would be Crazy Love by Frances Chan. I like anything written by Max Lucado.

    Now for my list of Childrens books!
    1. The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein
    2. Oh, The places You’ll Go by Dr. Seuss
    3. Louder, Lili by Gennifer Choldenko
    4. The Little House by Virginia Lee Burton
    5. The Runaway Bunny by Margaret Wise Brown

    They all have really good messages in them!

    Now movies…
    Tim Burton And Quentin Tarantino! I love all of their movies!

    I know, I’m all over the place! Oh well, that keeps life interesting! 🙂

    • Children’s books should definitely be on the list! And anything by Shel Silverstein is amazing! Agreed on Taratino and Tim Burton….I also am a huge fan of the Coen brothers (I actually got to meet Joel Coen a couple of years ago!). I’ll have to try out the others you suggested! Thanks for commenting!


Leave a Reply

