The Outsider's Insider

A Guide to Living in Yerevan

Books May 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — outsidersinsider @ 8:07 am

I am a self-proclaimed book junkie. I am absolutely addicted to books. I love reading them, I love owning them (so I can re-read) and I really love buying them. I have always dreamed of owning a bookstore/coffee shop! It’s difficult moving to a non-English speaking country when you are such a book lover! I packed up and brought the books I couldn’t live without…but what to do once I got here? I asked myself ‘Where will I find books?’, with the seriousness of someone asking where they will find bread (yes, they are THAT essential in my life). Well, for other book lovers I have some solutions for you!
1.) Of course, a great source of reading material is your fellow ex-pat! I often trade and borrow! (sorry if I borrowed from you and kept it too long…I just have so many things to read!) I was thinking that a book swap might be an interesting idea, and if you think so too, let me know and we can organize!
2.) Another great place to get books on a temporary basis is American University Library (Baghramyan St.). They have a pretty great selection if you aren’t being too specific in your choices and you can keep the books for two weeks. You need a library card, and I am not sure of the regulations now for getting one. You can check out their website http://www.aua.am. I have had mine for almost four years, and it’s in my husband’s name.
3.) Another interesting place is in the underground shopping area at Yeridasardakan (use the underground walkway at Abovian St. and Muskovian St.). While many undergrounds have books, I have found that this one has the best selection. Look for the table on the far side near the stairs that lead up toward SAS Supermarket. I always have the best luck there!
4.) Bookstores are rather hit or miss. Most book shops here only carry adapted English books, used mainly for EFL learners. But, there are two shops that we can always count on. Artbridge Café on Abovian St. (near Tumanyan) has a good assortment of new and used books. The new books are a bit pricey for me (though they have new titles, which is nice), but I am always excited by the used selection. They also usually have children’s books, as well as magazines and newspapers in English. Another shop is on Mashtots Ave. It is not too far from Amiryan St., but closer to the park. I am not sure of the actual name (and maybe it doesn’t really have one), but I have always called it Book World. They have a selection of English books downstairs. They also have gardening books, cook books and design books upstairs on the right side!
Well, I hope this helps you in your quest to read! If I missed anything, please let me know. Now excuse me…I need to go stick my nose in a book!

 

2 Responses to “Books”

  1. Armine Says:

    Just found your blog – what a wonderful idea. As a former ex-pat in Armenia, I found that many Amazon dealers delivered to Armenia (though this is an admittedly pricey option) — a bit of a pain but certainly worth it if you’ve exhausted all other options!! Also, I’ve heard the American embassy has an “American Corner” somewhere near AUA where you can get books (although their website doesn’t seem to be working at the moment). Good luck!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words! It’s great to hear words of encouragement! I didn’t mention the Amazon option mainly because of the cost. Thanks for reminding me about the American Corner. It moved and is now located near Republic Square Metro next to the Architecture Museum. I have been in there, but not really used their services. I believe you need to take your passport to get a card there. I also pick up books used at the charity bazaars they have at Marriott a couple of times a year, and also at the US Embassy Yard Sale. Keep reading and I will have new posts about every Thursday!


Leave a Reply

