The Outsider's Insider

A Guide to Living in Yerevan

Our Very Own Home Depot April 28, 2010

Filed under: Home — outsidersinsider @ 4:26 pm

I moved to Armenia in the middle of my husband’s remodeling of the apartment he grew up in. What a mess! When I arrived, there

was no floor, no furniture and piles of dust. I quickly became familiar with the street that I immediately began calling ‘Home Depot’

(for those of you who aren’t familiar with it, Home Depot is a superstore in America which caters to all of your building needs). This

street is located on Vartanyants Street on the other side of the big statue of the man on a horse (the Vartan Mamikonyan sculpture)

across the park from Vernissage. On the right side, you will find individual stores selling paint, sinks, home supplies and just about

everything imaginable for your house. On the left side, you will find a more flea market style area. Here you will find all of the above,

plus screws and parts for, it seems, everything! As a teacher, I have also found this street to be of amazing value. It is a cheap place to

find gouache, paint brushes and all the things you might need for a school field day. I was recently asked where to find rope for

tug-o-war and potato sacks for sack races….my answer was Home Depot, of course! This is not to be confused with the new store

located on the road to Erebuni called ‘Tun Depot’ (translation- Home Depot, obviously the owners of this new store have spent some

time in the States!). If you need anything for home improvement projects, art projects or even school events, this is THE place to find

it. If you need any help locating it, just send me a message and I will be happy to help you out!

Here is a picture of the Vartan Mamikonyan sculpture to help you out!        

 

5 Responses to “Our Very Own Home Depot”

  1. Vach Says:

    As a kid I played in that park and climbed this sculpture many times. I still can’t learn the new names of the streets. I refer to this street by it’s old name, Gnuni.
    It’s funny how the city has a memory. In the old days there used to be a building supply store witch was closed by the end of the 80s , but apparently as soon as things started moving again, the whole area turned into a big home supply market.

  2. Gina Says:

    Don’t forget the light bulb store near the end of the shops row. If they don’t have it, it doesn’t exist!

  3. The light bulb store at the end is EXACTLY where I told our friend to buy sacks for sack races! I think I supplies my entire summer school last year from that shop!

    • Tim Says:

      But of course one buys ones potato sacks at the light bulb store! That is one of the things I really love about Yerevan- the fact that Mom and Pop shops still survive, and have sometimes the most bizarre assortments of products. I can remember my favorite from a few years ago at the Cascade- the teddy bear and vodka shop..one stop shop for that late night romantic meet, I guess. Sadly, it is now a childrens clothing shop that has stolen the name of a well known Finnish company. And then there was the sex shop in the basement below it, which also has disappeared.

  4. I remember seeing a sex shop there, and thinking that it probably wouldn’t last long! Cascade is too classy for teddy bear and vodka shops! I love the combo!


Leave a Reply

