The Outsider's Insider

A Guide to Living in Yerevan

The Quest for Peanut Butter April 23, 2010

Filed under: Food — outsidersinsider @ 7:30 am

If you are anything like me, a pretty typical American girl, you grew up eating peanut butter sandwiches. I personally consider it to be an absolute necessity in my cupboard. Imagine my despair, after arriving in Yerevan, when I couldn’t find peanut butter ANYWHERE! I spent months combing the supermarkets of Yerevan (there weren’t as many four years ago as there are now), only to have supermarket employees look at my husband and I as if we were from another planet! Most had no clue what we were even talking about. Nutella was the closest thing we could find, but it is just not the same! I finally abandoned my fruitless search, which was unfortunate for my mother because she had to send me giant jars of JIF from Sam’s Club about every six months. Shipping big jars of PB from America is not really cost effective, and she sent me what probably ended up being the most expensive PB on the planet! Thanks, Mom!
Imagine my excitement (and Mom’s) when I saw a row of Skippy jars at SAS Supermarket!! Of course, they cost roughly 4500 AMD, and I quickly realized that I might not be able to afford my daily PB habit. Thankfully, I have seen PB pop up at several markets in town, namely Yerevan City on Tigran Mets (this is the cheapest). I don’t know how long the supplies will last, so I generally stock up on a few jars! SAS still had a big stock last time I was in sooooo…..grab yourself some tasty goodness….but leave some for me!
SAS has several locations in the center of Yerevan…http://shop.sas-holding.com/
And so does Yerevan City….but they have no website. Check out the location on Tigran Mets, not far from Republic Square and their big shop in Zeytun.

I have also decided to add in a recipe on how to make your very own peanut butter at home!

It’s easy to make your own homemade peanut butter if you have a food processor or heavy-duty blender. The flavor of the peanuts really shines through when you make it yourself.

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Total Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup roasted, unsalted, shelled peanuts
  • 1-1/2 to 3 tablespoons peanut or safflower oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Honey to taste, optional

Preparation:

Blend in food processor or blender adding just enough oil to make it smooth. You can use salted peanuts and omit the salt, or omit the salt entirely with unsalted peanuts. Add honey to taste, if desired.

If you want chunky peanut butter, add chopped peanuts after you have made the smooth version.

Store peanut butter in an airtight container in the refrigerator. Use within two weeks.

Yield: about 1-1/2 cups

 

6 Responses to “The Quest for Peanut Butter”

  1. Anoush Says:

    One year I brought peanut butter from LA for my friend Hayes, who had the same problem. But he also found places that carry it.
    I myself had my first taste of peanut butter about… oh…. 5-6 years ago?… And I have to say that this is one of those things you had to grow up with in order to like it. When you try these things as an adult, they just don’t leave that much impression on you.
    In any case I am VERY happy for you for finding it and for Yerevan for finally carrying it. Which must mean more tourists, right?

  2. I don’t know what it means! It means that my mama is happy!!!

  3. Gina Says:

    Finally, at long last! Peanut butter in Yerevan at reasonable prices. Thanks for the info.

  4. the word reasonable is relative!! 🙂 still a bit high priced…but i’m willing to pay!

  5. Tim Says:

    Funny how I have gotten out of the habit of hunting for foods I recognize and love from my childhood in Ohio…. When I arrived in Yerevan, the big discussion was where to find mayonnaise. It moved on, yes, to peanut butter, bagels, Tang etc. Now all of those things are available, but I never buy them! Have to admit, my only endulgence is Special K, which used to be a real rarity, but now is readily available… Hmmm…thanks for pointing this out…My Mom would never recognize my diet!

  6. Where are you buying bagels???? Real ones? Not those little ones they sell at the bread store, because those don’t count! I can get most things now, I’m just waiting for the price of avocados and shrimp to go WAY down so that I can indulge in those!!


Leave a Reply

