The Outsider's Insider

A Guide to Living in Yerevan

What This Is All About… April 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — outsidersinsider @ 9:33 am

I decided to start this blog because I have so much information to share about living in Yerevan…from where to buy socks, to the best restaurants, to how to find peanut butter. I also wanted to start this because I wish there had been some kind of resource to help me find all of those little comforts that I was used to back home when I first arrived in Yerevan as a first-time expat (with no clue what it was like to live anywhere outside the States) in the summer of 2006, but there wasn’t and there still isn’t so I decided to start one myself.
A little bit about me is in order… I’m just a regular country girl from Ohio who never pictured herself living out her life in any other country, let alone Armenia! I have no Armenian roots; I married into them! My husband grew up in Yerevan and we moved here in August 2006 (for me…sight unseen). I am a teacher who specializes in teaching English as a Foreign Language and a freelance copy-editor. My husband and I have built a life here and I hope I can share a little bit of what I have learned with you.
If there is anything in particular that you want to know about just send me a message and I will do my best to give you the info you need. If it’s not something I already know I will use all my little ways to find out for you! So, stay tuned for lots of interesting info!

 

9 Responses to “What This Is All About…”

  1. Molly Wynn Owen Says:

    Love this blog already! What a wonderful, and very generous, undertaking for all of us newcomers. Thank you.

  2. Thanks so much Molly! It’s great to get encouragement from the ex-pat community!!!

  3. Igor Says:

    Hey Good Luck on this one, look good already.
    Yesterday we went to the restaurant called baobaB, yep that’s wright… Very good food, especially salads! For people who know me, I was impressed. It is behind Sariyan monument near Opera.

  4. Anoush Says:

    This is going to come in handy even for an insider, who has been an outsider for a while.

  5. I hope so Anoush! I want it to help everyone. My idea was for foreigners, Diaspora and repatriates. …or even locals who don’t know how to find something. I’ll post at least one a week!

  6. Gina Says:

    Woohoo! The definitive blog on living life in Yerevan is up & running! Best of luck!!!

  7. Maria Says:

    What a great idea!!!! Lori, thanks for taking care of all us, newcomers, you are wonderful. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

